WDMCC_Final File_Red WDMCC_Final File_Red

Latest News

Nicholls Dominates at Blaxhall as Benstead and Morter step towards the ACU Eastern titles

By woodbridgedmcc, Sep 25 2017 07:35PM

Sunday saw the Woodbridge DMCC host the sixth and penultimate round of the Bickers Lifting ACU Eastern Motocross Championship at Blaxhall near Woodbridge. The event was locally supported by Orwell Truck and Van as over 150 riders competed across the 12 race format.

The clear skies and sunshine made for a great days racing around the sandy Blaxhall circuit and following the practice sessions it was time for the racing to begin with an exciting line in the National Experts including Jake Nicholls, Lewis Tombs, Tom Grimshaw and Dylan Woodcock along with the regular championship. The Premier group saw the Experts joined by the fastest 10 Junior riders on the day.

The opening Premier class race of the day saw Jake Nicholls make the start and ride a strong race to take the race win ahead of Lewis Tombs who pushed hard to challenge Nicholls but had to settle for second ahead of young Tom Grimshaw in third. Declan Whittle rode a good race to finish in fourth and hold off a late charge from Dylan Woodcock in fifth after coming through the pack. The Junior championship riders in the race put on a great show with the top 5 beating a number of regular Experts as Harvey Thomas took the win ahead of James Wayman and Perry Galloway in third. Fourth and fifth places went to Wayne Goodlad and Rheis Morter.

Once again in the second Premier Class race it was Jake Nicholls who took the lead into the first corner and ride another solid race to take a second race win. It looked like Tombs was going to take another second place until a crash saw him drop to fourth allowing Luke Parker to claim second before Tombs recovered to third at the finish. Fourth and fifth places went to Dylan Woodcock and Tom Grimshaw. The leading Junior riders once again saw Harvey Thomas take the win ahead of James Wayman, Rheis Morter in third with Aaron Holloway and Joe Salmons finishing fourth and fifth.

The third and final Premier Class race saw Jake Nicholls make the start but unfortunately the race was stopped before the halfway point due to an injury to Dylan Woodcock. In the re run Nicholls grabbed the start and took another dominate race win with Luke Benstead taking second after struggling with a knee injury all day. Third place went to Declan Whittle with Luke Parker and Tom Grimshaw rounding out the top 5. This time it was Rheis Morter who took the Junior class win over Connor Baldry and James Wayman with Joe Salmons and James Suckling rounding out the top 5.

In the three Intermediate Class races Aaron Framlinham took three race wins and the overall victory in the class ahead of Joseph Golding in second overall who finished with two seconds and a third. Third overall on the day went to Carl Miller ahead of Paul Hubbard and Ben Alexander in fourth and fifth.

The Support A group produced some good racing with three different race wins across the three races. At the end of the day it was Thomas Mustard who took the overall win with Mark Goodson in second and Joshua Warren in third. Fourth overall went to Daniel Dyer with Joe Dawson in fifth.

Gary Scarlett won the Support B group with a second and two race wins ahead of Richard Gorrell and Michael Lyons. Stephen Parker and Cory Smith rounded out the top 5 positions.

Results at https://speedhive.mylaps.com/Events/1465337

Add a comment
* Required